bash, downloadable, kali, linux, script

Configuring USB Wifi TP-Link TLWN725N adapter on Kali Linux


I’m using the same adapter that I mentioned on a previously post, the TP-Link TLWN725N. This time I’m trying to make it work on Kali Linux. The first thing that I did was to list my USB devices (after, of course, plug in my USB Wifi adapter):

$lsusb

This command returned some results, but the one that I was interest was:

Bus 005 Device 002: ID 0bda:8179 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.

This shows that the OS recognized my adapter, but it doesn’t have any functionality. If I typed the command below, there wouldn’t show up any wlan* interfaces.

$iwconfig

The found a good tutorial in French which gave me the idea to look for the drive 8188eu (the same one that I used to make the same Wifi adapter work on Raspberry Pi). The difference here is that I must find this file that can be compilable so it can fit exactly on my OS. I Googled for rtl8188eu.tar.gz and the first link was a tarball from Github. I downloaded and extract the tarball using thise commands:

$wget https://github.com/lwfinger/rtl8188eu/tarball/master -O rtl8188eu.tar.gz
$tar xvf rtl8188eu.tar.gz

In order to compile this software, I have to use the command make. Some linux distributions doesn’t come with make pre-installed. To install it, run the command bellow:

$sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)

After this, follow these three steps to compile the firmware and install it:

$cd lwfinger-rtl8188eu-fcc9034/
$make
$sudo make install
$sudo modprobe 8188eu

When you’re done with the commands above, run the command below and behold your Wifi adaptor working smoothly:

$iwconfig

If you’re lazy (just like me), you can download the script that I created or clone my GitHub repository and execute it (commands below):

$git clone http://github.com/pablohenrique/l33ttutorials.git
$sudo sh ./l33ttutorials/linux/install-tplink-tlwn725n-kali-l33ttutorials.sh

Thank you for reading!

This blog has a Brazilian Portuguese version.

Standard

Leave a comment